Joanna Zawartko is a graduate of the Academy of Music in Wrocław, where she attended the solo singing class of Agata Młynarska-Klonowska.

She made her debut in 2013 in the title role of Dvořák’s Rusalka in a concert version of the opera staged at the Lower Silesian Philharmonic. A year later she began her fruitful association with the Wrocław Opera when she appeared as Desdemona in Verdi’s Otello. Her repertoire also encompasses the parts of Tatyana in Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin, the eponymous role in Moniuszko’s Halka, Micaëla in Bizet’s Carmen, Zemfira in Rachmaninov’s Aleko, Amelia in Verdi’s Simon Boccanegra, Ortlinde in Wagner’s Die Walküre, and Roxana in Szymanowski’s King Roger.

Her talents have been recognised in numerous international and Polish competitions, including the 9th International Stanisław Moniuszko Competition in Warsaw (2016, 3rd Prize and a special prize), the 49th International Antonin Dvořák Singing Competition in Karlovy Vary (2014, 3rd Prize and a special prize), the 6th International Halina Halska-Fijałkowska Singing Competition in Wrocław (2013, Grand Prix and a special prize), the 2nd Jan, Edward and Józefina Reszkos Singing Competition in Częstochowa (2011, 2nd Prize and three special prizes), and the 10th Polish National Vocal Competiton in Duszniki-Zdrój (2010, 1st Prize). The singer has also been awarded scholarships by the Minister of Culture and National Heritage and the Mayor of Wrocław.

She has performed at a whole host of international festivals, including Duszniki-Zdrój, Bydgoszcz, Kudowa-Zdrój, Kraków, Wrocław, and Košice as well as at the Saaremaa Opera Festival. Audiences have also enjoyed her singing at the Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe, the Tiroler Landestheater Innsbruck, the Wrocław Opera, the Grand Theatre of Łódź, the Philharmonics of Lower Silesia, Kalisz, Koszalin, Lublin, Warsaw, Pomerania, Poznań, Sudety, Silesia, Košice, and the National Forum of Music in Wrocław.

Joanna Zawartko has collaborated with such conductors as Marzena Diakun, Seokwon Hong, Jacek Kaspszyk, Ewa Michnik, Marcin Nałęcz-Niesiołowski, Marek Pijarowski, Wojciech Rodek, Zygmunt Rychert, Jerzy Salwarowski, Robertas Šervenikas, Ruben Silva, Daniele Squeo, Piotr Sułkowski, Jan Ślęk, Johannes Willig, and Tadeusz Wojciechowski, among others.